(650) 735-2436   (209) 643-2436

Gun Purchases

I was at my local Dick’s Sporting Goods a few weeks ago and, while perusing the firearms, came across this rather enormous sign.

Gun storage law sign

California’s gun laws are extensive. I’ll most likely describe the laws enumerating each specific bullet point in future blog posts, but the requirement that such a sign be displayed at all is in California Penal Code section 26835. Section 26835 states as follows:

"A licensee shall post conspicuously within the licensed
premises the following warnings in block letters not less than one
inch in height:

   (a) "IF YOU KEEP A LOADED FIREARM WITHIN ANY PREMISES UNDER YOUR
CUSTODY OR CONTROL, AND A PERSON UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE OBTAINS IT AND
USES IT, RESULTING IN INJURY OR DEATH, OR CARRIES IT TO A PUBLIC
PLACE, YOU MAY BE GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR OR A FELONY UNLESS YOU
STORED THE FIREARM IN A LOCKED CONTAINER OR LOCKED THE FIREARM WITH A
LOCKING DEVICE, TO KEEP IT FROM TEMPORARILY FUNCTIONING."
   (b) "IF YOU KEEP A PISTOL, REVOLVER, OR OTHER FIREARM CAPABLE OF
BEING CONCEALED UPON THE PERSON, WITHIN ANY PREMISES UNDER YOUR
CUSTODY OR CONTROL, AND A PERSON UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE GAINS ACCESS
TO THE FIREARM, AND CARRIES IT OFF-PREMISES, YOU MAY BE GUILTY OF A
MISDEMEANOR, UNLESS YOU STORED THE FIREARM IN A LOCKED CONTAINER, OR
LOCKED THE FIREARM WITH A LOCKING DEVICE, TO KEEP IT FROM TEMPORARILY
FUNCTIONING."
   (c) "IF YOU KEEP ANY FIREARM WITHIN ANY PREMISES UNDER YOUR
CUSTODY OR CONTROL, AND A PERSON UNDER 18 YEARS OF AGE GAINS ACCESS
TO THE FIREARM, AND CARRIES IT OFF-PREMISES TO A SCHOOL OR
SCHOOL-SPONSORED EVENT, YOU MAY BE GUILTY OF A MISDEMEANOR, INCLUDING
A FINE OF UP TO FIVE THOUSAND DOLLARS ($5,000), UNLESS YOU STORED
THE FIREARM IN A LOCKED CONTAINER, OR LOCKED THE FIREARM WITH A
LOCKING DEVICE."
   (d) "IF YOU NEGLIGENTLY STORE OR LEAVE A LOADED FIREARM WITHIN ANY
PREMISES UNDER YOUR CUSTODY OR CONTROL, WHERE A PERSON UNDER 18
YEARS OF AGE IS LIKELY TO ACCESS IT, YOU MAY BE GUILTY OF A
MISDEMEANOR, INCLUDING A FINE OF UP TO ONE THOUSAND DOLLARS ($1,000),
UNLESS YOU STORED THE FIREARM IN A LOCKED CONTAINER, OR LOCKED THE
FIREARM WITH A LOCKING DEVICE."
   (e) "DISCHARGING FIREARMS IN POORLY VENTILATED AREAS, CLEANING
FIREARMS, OR HANDLING AMMUNITION MAY RESULT IN EXPOSURE TO LEAD, A
SUBSTANCE KNOWN TO CAUSE BIRTH DEFECTS, REPRODUCTIVE HARM, AND OTHER
SERIOUS PHYSICAL INJURY. HAVE ADEQUATE VENTILATION AT ALL TIMES. WASH
HANDS THOROUGHLY AFTER EXPOSURE."
   (f) "FEDERAL REGULATIONS PROVIDE THAT IF YOU DO NOT TAKE PHYSICAL
POSSESSION OF THE FIREARM THAT YOU ARE ACQUIRING OWNERSHIP OF WITHIN
30 DAYS AFTER YOU COMPLETE THE INITIAL BACKGROUND CHECK PAPERWORK,
THEN YOU HAVE TO GO THROUGH THE BACKGROUND CHECK PROCESS A SECOND
TIME IN ORDER TO TAKE PHYSICAL POSSESSION OF THAT FIREARM."
   (g) "NO PERSON SHALL MAKE AN APPLICATION TO PURCHASE MORE THAN ONE
PISTOL, REVOLVER, OR OTHER FIREARM CAPABLE OF BEING CONCEALED UPON
THE PERSON WITHIN ANY 30-DAY PERIOD AND NO DELIVERY SHALL BE MADE TO
ANY PERSON WHO HAS MADE AN APPLICATION TO PURCHASE MORE THAN ONE
PISTOL, REVOLVER, OR OTHER FIREARM CAPABLE OF BEING CONCEALED UPON
THE PERSON WITHIN ANY 30-DAY PERIOD."

 

The following two tabs change content below.

Andy Chen

Andy I. Chen is a lawyer licensed to practice law in California and New York. Andy maintains offices in Los Altos, California and Modesto, California. Under the New York Court of Appeals' 2015 decision in Schoenefeld v. State of New York, Andy does not accept cases from those in New York state. He does, however, know many lawyers in New York state and would be happy to make a referral.

Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published.